

COQUITLAM METRO-FORD SOCCER CLUB 2022 ANNUAL AWARDS NIGHT

On Friday, November 18th, 2022, Coquitlam Metro-Ford held its 2022 Awards Ceremony. After a two-year break from the event due to COVID, the Awards Night was held at a new venue, the Show Theatre at the Hard Rock Casino Vancouver. Over 700 member families, volunteers, staff, sponsors, and special guests, came together to celebrate the incredible achievements of players, coaches, teams, referees, and individual members.

We welcome you to read through our list of nominees and winners. Congratulations to all!

Player of the Year

Of CMF's over 4,500 players, the Player of the Year Award recognizes impact players within their level of play, highlights players that continue to thrive in their environments and are promoted to further opportunity either within the Club, Provincially, or Nationally. These truly exception players also reflect the CMFSC values of Respect, Leadership, and Excellence.

2022 BCSPL Female Player of the Year

- Emily Wong Winner
- Charis Wardrope Nominee

2022 BCSPL Male Player of the Year

- Jordan Low Winner
- Cole Toupin Nominee

2022 Divisional Female Player of the Year

- Arliss King Winner
- Lucy Ryalls Nominee

2022 Divisional Male Player of the Year

- Nicholas Lam Winner
- Ryan Wong Nominee

Team of the Year

Of CMF's over 300 teams, the Team of the Year Award recognizes teams that stand out within their division and have had a successful season within League, League Cup, Coastal Cup, Provincial Cup, National Competition, and other additional tournaments. Along with their outstanding performance on the field, teams also go above and beyond with the Club.

2022 BCSPL Female Team of the Year

- 2008 Girls Winner
- 2004 Girls Nominee

2022 Divisional Female Team of the Year

- Under 14 Metro Pegasus Winner
- Under 14 Division 1 Titans -Nominee

2022 BCSPL Male Team of the Year

- 2004 Boys Winner
- 2007 Boys Nominee
- 2008 Boys Nominee

2022 Divisional Male Team of the Year

- Under 13 Division 2 Sevilla Winner
- Under 13 Division 2 Villa Winner



COQUITLAM METRO-FORD SOCCER CLUB 2022 ANNUAL AWARDS NIGHT

2022 Adult Team of the Year

• MWSL Galaxy - Winner

Coach of the Year

Of CMF's over 300 head coaches, the Coach of the Year Award recognizes individuals that truly make a difference in the experience of their team and players. Their seasons are marked with success on the field, and there is an overall feeling of family and community on their team.

2022 BCSPL Female Team Coach of the Year

- Carlo Basso Winner
- Steve Kindel Nominee

2022 BCSPL Male Team Coach of the Year

- Steve Kindel Winner
- Chris Peat Nominee

2022 Divisional Female Team Coach of the

Year

- Franco Gallina Winner
- Joe Scigliano Nominee

2022 Divisional Male Team Coach of the Year

- David Commerford Winner
- Sime Buric Nominee

Referee of the Year

With over 150 referees in circulation, we are proud of the referee development program led by Head Referee Pete Dragan. The Referee of the Year Award recognizes officials that are excelling in the game and display professionalism on and off the field. They consistently perform at, or above, the standard level of refereeing.

2022 Female Full-Sided Referee of the Year

- Kelly Miada Winner
- Alyssa Clark Nominee

2022 Male Full-Sided Referee of the Year

- Scott Fletcher Winner
- Matteo Papa Nominee

2022 Female Small-Sided Referee of the Year

- Mia Butkovic Winner
- Selena Khatkar Nominee

2022 Male Small-Sided Referee of the Year

- Roman Mattiazzo Winner
- James Heinrichs Nominee



COQUITLAM METRO-FORD SOCCER CLUB 2022 ANNUAL AWARDS NIGHT

Emerging Leader Award

This is a new award for our Club and created out of necessity to acknowledge the incredible work being done by our youth volunteers. The Emerging Leader Award recognizes individuals who have completed the CMF Junior Coach Volunteer Program and have used

Winner – Zach Gibney
Winner – Grace Corradi

those skills to give back to the Club through coaching either as a volunteer or a staff coach within our Spring Programming, Academies, Camps, Adaptive Program, or with one of our teams.

Most Inspirational - David Norman Sr. Award

The David Norman Sr. Award is presented to a Club member who has shown dedication to CMFSC in their continued efforts and has acted as a role model for other volunteers.

Winner - Joe Basic

President's Award

The President's Award recognizes individuals who have played in our club as a youth and have then continued at a high level in their soccer career post youth.

Winner - Giuliano Oliviero

Soccer for Life Award

The Soccer for Life Award recipient displays the ideals behind SOCCER FOR LIFE. This includes spending time and energy to encourage a passion and dedication to soccer. This individual or group promotes, teaches, grows, and gives back to the game of soccer.

Winner - Neil McGregor

William Azzi Lifetime Achievement Award

The William Azzi Lifetime Achievement Award recognizes an individual who provided long term commitment and dedication to CMFSC.

Attained a high level of excellence and brought honour to CMFSC through ongoing dedication to the building of athletes, sport and the club.

Winner – Layne Magnuson